Our Story

Meet Michelle, Doug and the family.

This is about life in our family with tips & tricks, failures and successes.

We are an Aussie country family, mum (me or Michelle or Mrs), step dad (Doug or Mr), and four kids – 2 girls and 2 boys, plus two dogs and 10 cows (recently sold as we ran out of water with the drought.)

We have had our share of experiences and are just a bunch of ordinary people.

I was married, lived with a partner with mental health then became a single mum of 4 for five years, divorced and now met my forever partner, and we just had a quiet family wedding on our property. I have a University degree which I completed whilst my family was growing, started straight out of school and finished over ten years later with four kids. I’ve had my own business, work on wages (sometimes have juggled up to 3 jobs at once) & had side hobbies/businesses to make additional monies. I love to read although find it hard to get through a book quickly. I love cooking, and to do craft, I dislike housework so try and find shortcuts. My family is the most important thing in my life. I hate keeping up with the Jones and tend to do my own thing. I love learning new things all the time. 

Doug was also married and divorced. He has no biological children of his own, but has taken on the Dad role of my four. He became their only father figure after their father lost his battle with cancer early in 2018. He is much better at discipline then me. He has worked many jobs over the years, and late in 2015 he became self employed which was one of the best decisions of his life. He has recently started an adult apprenticeship in cabinetmaking which he is enjoying. He loves tinkering in the shed with woodwork and also has a passion for gaming. He tries to convince me to game with him, but it is far from my forte. Perhaps I can vow to learn his favourite game when all my planned forms of passive income are working well. He is the most loyal and loving man I have ever met.

My kids are aged between 23 and 15. (As at January 2019). They go girl, boy, girl, boy. They all have different personalities and interests. I have one girly girl teenager who puts make up on most days and then another that rarely wears it. I have two kids that are book worms and two that rarely pick up a book. I have two that always do/did their school work without having to be asked and two that you need to put a bomb under. They all are experts on social media which of course is pretty common in today’s society. My older two are currently active members of the Australian Defence Force, and the younger two have plans of also joining. All in all my kids are just ordinary kids. They love Netflix, social media, xboxes and PlayStations, eating a lot, laughing a lot, and not cleaning up after themselves.

So that’s a snap shot of us. We hope you will enjoy our stories and our lessons, and that we can help you in some way, whether it be with a recipe, or a financial tip, or just feeling like you are not battling on your own and alone out there.